Tag Archives: Awards

Anne, Alias Grace, Kim’s Convenience and Baroness von Sketch Show win big at Canadian Screen Awards gala

Alias Grace, Baroness von Sketch Show, Anne, Schitt’s Creek‘s Catherine O’Hara, Orphan Black‘s Tatiana Maslany, Cardinal‘s Billy Campbell, Kim’s Convenience‘s Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and the series itself were among the winners at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards gala on Sunday night at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

Meanwhile, Murdoch Mysteries executive producer Christina Jennings made the fans’ night by revealing that Season 12 of the top-rated series had been ordered by CBC. Production starts soon.

The Academy Icon Award was delivered to Rick Mercer Report, Peter Mansbridge was given the Lifetime Achievement Award and Clark Johnson received the Earle Grey Award. Carmilla‘s Elise Bauman captured the Audience Choice Award.

The pre-broadcast winners were:

Golden Screen Award for TV Drama or Comedy
Murdoch Mysteries, CBC

Golden Screen Award for TV Reality Show
The Amazing Race Canada, CTV

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada, CTV

The main television category winners were:

Best Lead Actress, Comedy
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek

Best Lead Actor, Comedy
Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience

Best Performance, Sketch Comedy (Individual or Ensemble)
Baroness von Sketch Show, CBC

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series
Alexander Ludwig, Vikings

Best Drama Series
Anne, CBC

Best Comedy Series
Kim’s Convenience, CBC

Best Lead Actor, Drama Program or Limited Series
Billy Campbell, Cardinal

Best Lead Actress, Drama Program or Limited Series
Sarah Gadon, Alias Grace

Audience Choice Award
Elise Bauman, Carmilla

Best Limited Series or Program
Alias Grace, CBC

Here’s a list of the winners from TuesdayWednesday and Thursday‘s industry awards.

What did you think of last night’s awards? Did your favourite television show, actor or actress win? Let me know in the comments below.





Baroness Von Sketch Show, Alias Grace and Andrew Phung take home trophies during Night 2 of Canadian Screen Awards

The writers on Baroness Von Sketch Show, Letterkenny, Orphan Black, Odd Squad, and Kim’s Convenience co-star Andrew Phung and Schitt’s Creek‘s Emily Hampshire were among the winners in the Creative Fiction Storytelling categories during Night 2 of the Canadian Screen Awards.

Hosted by Kim’s Convenience‘s Andrew Phung, the non-televised celebration honoured 42 categories in the guest performance, writing, directing, photography, editing, production design, visual effects, sound, limited, variety and sketch comedy.

“On the count of three, I want you to shout out what you had for breakfast!” Phung yelled at the crowd before calling out Schitt’s Creek‘s Daniel Levy for not answering. “Now I want you to shout out your favourite Canadian production, but it cannot be your own project!” He then called his mother on his cell phone for advice on how to host the show.

“Oh my god,” she said. “You should just do your best.”

Special awards were given to the late Denis McGrath (Margaret Collier Award) and Jay Switzer (Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute Award), and Bell Let’s Talk (Humanitarian Award).

Here are the winners in several of the key categories:

Best Supporting Actor, Drama
R.H. Thomson, Anne

Best Supporting Actress, Drama
Allie MacDonald, Cardinal

Best Guest Performance, Drama Series
Steven McCarthy, Mary Kills People

Best Pre-School Program or Series
Paw Patrol, TVO Kids

Best Animated Program or Series
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, YTV

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series
Odd Squad, TVO Kids

Best Performance, Children’s or Youth
Ella Ballentine, L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire & Dew

Best Performance, Animation
Martin Short, The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween

Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy
Aurora Browne, Meredith MacNeill, Carolyn Taylor, Jennifer Whalen, Jennifer Goodhue, Monica Heisey, Mae Martin, Zoe Whittall — Baroness Von Sketch Show, CBC

Best Writing, Comedy
Jacob Tierney, Jared Keeso — Letterkenny, CraveTV

Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series
Sarah Polley — Alias Grace, CBC

Best Writing, Drama Series
Graeme Manson, Renee St. Cyr — Orphan Black, Space

Best Writing, Children’s or Youth
Adam Peltzman, Tim McKeon — Odd Squad, TVO Kids

Best Writing, Animated
Sean Jara — Mysticons, YTV

Best Supporting or Guest Actor, Comedy
Andrew Phung, Kim’s Convenience

Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy
Emily Hampshire, Schitt’s Creek

Best Sketch Comedy Program or Series
Baroness Von Sketch Show, CBC

Here is the complete list of winners from Wednesday night.




The Amazing Race Canada, Still Standing and Rise win at Night 1 of the Canadian Screen Awards

Still Standing, The Amazing Race Canada, Mayday, Rise and CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme were among the winners during Night 1 of the non-televised portion of the Canadian Screen Awards.

Miguel Rivas, of The Comedy Network’s The Beaverton, served as host for the evening, poking fun at The National‘s four-person panel and holding mock auditions for a co-host. Among the finalists? Chef Matty Matheson, The Social‘s Lainey Lui and Peter Mansbridge. One of the most emotional moments of the night followed Viceland’s Rise being awarded Best Documentary Program. Series producer Michelle Latimer tearfully championed Indigenous Peoples and referenced the effects colonization has had on First Nations people in Canada and around the world.

Fifty categories celebrating non-fiction television—including news, sports, factual, reality, lifestyle, talk and children’s programming—were handed out at Toronto’s Westin Harbour Castle during the non-televised event. Karyn Pugliese received the Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism.

Here are the winners in several key categories:

Best News Anchor, Local
Andrew Chang, British Columbia Votes

Best News or Information Program
Terror, Viceland

Best Sports Host
James Duthie, TSN

Best Children’s or Youth Non-Fiction Program or Series
Science Max: Experiments at Large, TVO Kids

Best Variety or Entertainment Special
P.K. Subban: Shots Fired, CBC

Best Writing, Factual
Still Standing, CBC

Best Writing, Lifestyle or Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada, CTV

Best Writing, Documentary
Unstoppable: The Fentanyl Epidemic in Canada, CBC

Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series
Rush: Time Stand Still, HBO Canada


Best Factual Series
Mayday, Discovery

Best History Documentary Program or Series
The Nature of Things, CBC

Best Documentary Program
Rise, Viceland

Best Host in a Live Program or Series
Rick Mercer, Canada Day 150! From Coast to Coast to Coast

Best Talk Program or Series
The Marilyn Denis Show, CTV

Best Lifestyle Program or Series
Property Brothers, HGTV Canada

Best News or Information Series
The Fifth Estate, CBC

Best Host in a Program or Series
Jonathan Torrens, Your Special Canada

Best Local Newscast
CBC News Vancouver at 6, CBC

Best National Newscast
CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme, CTV

Best News Anchor, National
Heather Hiscox, CBC News Network with Heather Hiscox

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer
Luke WilemanTSN

Best Sports Program or Series
Aaron Sanchez: Limitless, Sportsnet

Follow the link to the complete list of winners.

Are you happy with the shows and talent who took home hardware tonight? Let me know in the comments below.