Gavin Crawford to host 2007 Canadian Screenwriting awards

From the Writers Guild of Canada:

Outstanding list of finalists announced

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) will be celebrating an outstanding array of television, film and radio scripts on April 23 at the 2007 Canadian Screenwriting Awards.Guest host Gavin Crawford will be sure to bring the house down with his insider’s perspective on our industry as a writer and actor on This Hour Has 22 Minutes. Kyle Tingley will co-write the awards show with Crawford.

This is also a special year for the awards with the launch of the new WGC Showrunner Award.

“In the U.S., showrunners like David Shore (House) – who is Canadian – are well-known and revered,” said Maureen Parker, WGC Executive Director. “These writer/producers hold the vision for a television series and make all the creative decisions from development to post production.

“It’s time for Canada’s showrunners to step forward and be celebrated by their peers.”

Over 110 scripts were submitted for this year’s awards, honouring excellence in screenwriting. The entries have been narrowed down to 29 finalists in the categories of feature films, TV movies and miniseries, episodic dramas, comedies, documentaries and radio programs, and includes scripts from TV favourites such as Corner Gas, Intelligence, Slings & Arrows and Degrassi: The Next Generation, and the feature films Away From Her and Fido. See the complete list of finalists (PDF).

The Alex Barris Mentorship Award will also be presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond to help writers get a start in the business, as well as the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize for best unproduced Canadian miniseries/movie script, and the Writers Block Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the WGC.

All winners will be announced at the 2007 Canadian Screenwriting Awards on Monday, April 23, 2007, at the Brant House, 522 King St. West, Toronto.

Some of last year’s winners include Susin Nielson for Robson Arms, Susan Coyne & Bob Martin & Mark McKinney for Slings & Arrows, and Suzette Couture for the TV movie, The Man Who Lost Himself: The Terry Evanshen Story.