Stars from Little Mosque on the Prairie and Robson Arms to help celebrate Canadian Screenwriting Awards

From the Writers Guild of Canada:

Actors Sheila McCarthy and Sitara Hewitt from Little Mosque on the Prairie, and showrunner Susin Nielsen and actor Linda Kash from Robson Arms are among the celebrities joining host Gavin Crawford from This Hour Has 22 Minutes to celebrate the 2007 Canadian Screenwriting Awards on April 23 in Toronto.

Kyle Tingley is co-writing the awards show with Gavin Crawford for this special night, which is presented by the Writers Guild of Canada and honours excellence in screenwriting.

Awards will be given out in the categories of feature films, TV movies and miniseries, episodic dramas, comedies, documentaries and radio programs, and nominated scripts are from such hit shows as Corner Gas, Intelligence, and Slings & Arrows, and the feature films Away From Her and Fido. A complete list of finalists can be found in the attached press release.

2007 is a special year for the awards with the launch of the new WGC Showrunner Award. This award recognizes the writer/producers who hold the vision for a television series and make all the creative decisions from development to post production, like Brad Wright (Stargate Atlantis), Paul Mather (Corner Gas) and James Hurst (Degrassi: The Next Generation).

All winners will be announced at the 11th annual awards gala at 8:30 p.m. on Monday, April 23, 2006, at the Brant House, 522 King St. West, Toronto. If you would like to be on the media guest list, please contact Barb Farwell, Director of Communications, WGC, at 416-979-7907, ext. 5234, or

Some past recipients of the awards include Brent Butt & Paul Mather for Corner Gas, Susin Nielsen for Robson Arms, Suzette Couture for the TV movie The Man Who Lost Himself: The Terry Evanshen Story, and Chris Haddock for Da Vinci’s Inquest.