Finalists announced for 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) will celebrate the winning words of 2007 on April 14 at the 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards. More than 125 scripts were submitted for this year’s awards, honouring excellence in screenwriting. The entries have been narrowed down to 33 finalists in nine categories, including screenwriting for feature film, drama series, documentary film and more. Several special awards, including the WGC Showrunner Award, will also be handed out at the event.

Among the finalists, you will find the writers of television favourites such as Corner Gas, Robson Arms, Intelligence, Across the River to Motor City, This Hour has 22 Minutes and more, as well as the writers of feature films including The Stone Angel, Poor Boy’s Game and more. A complete list of finalists can be seen on the WGC website.

All winners will be announced at the 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards on Monday, April 14, 2008. Guest host (and finalist) Gavin Crawford (This Hour Has 22 Minutes) will once again keep everyone in stitches as he keeps the celebrations rolling. Kyle Tingley (also a finalist for 22 Mins) will co-write the awards show with Crawford.

Last year’s winners included Sarah Polley for the screenplay of Away From Her, Kevin White and Brent Butt for Corner Gas and Susan Coyne & Bob Martin & Mark McKinney for Slings & Arrows.

This year’s finalists reflect the high level of achievement of Canadian screenwriters across the categories.


One thought on “Finalists announced for 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards”

  1. Congratulations to everyone involved. YOU (yeah, you) did an amazing job this year.

Comments are closed.