Canadian Comedy Award nominees announced

From a media release:


The race for the 2010 Canadian Comedy Awards is on! Canada’s finest comedians will go head to head for the coveted BEAVER statuette this October in Toronto, as The Canadian Comedy Awards Foundation in association with The Comedy Network today announced the nominees for the 2010 Canadian Comedy Awards. At a media conference held at Yuk Yuk’s in Toronto, emcees Deb McGrath and Colin Mochrie highlighted the nominees in all 21 categories.

Winners will be declared at The Comedy Network Presents the Canadian Comedy Awards & Festival Awards Show on Monday, October 18 to be held at the Isabel Bader Theatre.

To view a complete list of the 2010 Canadian Comedy Awards nominees and to access nominee bios, please go to


Taped Live Performance

* Darcy Michael – Winnipeg Comedy Festival
* Jon Dore – Just For Laughs
* Mark Forward – Just For Laughs
* Sugar Sammy – Live in Concert
* Winston Spear – Stand Up & Bite Me

Direction – Television Program or Series

* Brian Roberts – Dan for Mayor Ep. 103
* Bruce McDonald – Almost Audrey
* Kelly Makin – Less Than Kind
* Kenny Hotz – Kenny vs. Spenny
* Vivieno Caldinelli – Hotbox

Writing – Television Program or Series

* Garry Campbell – Less Than Kind
* Kenny Hotz – Kenny vs. Spenny
* Levi MacDougall & Nathan Fielder – Important Things with Demetri Martin
* Mark McKinney – Less Than Kind
* Pat Thornton, Vivieno Caldinelli, Tim Polley, Graham Wagner, Katie Crown, and Bob Kerr – Hotbox

Performance by a Male – Television

* Brandon Firla – Little Mosque on the Prairie
* Dave Foley – Less Than Kind
* Ennis Esmer – The Listener
* Gavin Crawford – This Hour Has 22 Minutes
* Pat Thornton – Hotbox

Performance by a Female – Television

* Alana Johnston – That’s So Weird!
* Geri Hall – This Hour Has 22 Minutes
* Jennifer Irwin – Less Than Kind
* Laurie Elliott – Almost Audrey
* Wendel Meldrum – Less Than Kind

Performance by an Ensemble – Television

* Fred Ewanuick, Mary Ashton, Paul Bates, Ben Ayres, Suzanne Coy, Agam Darshi, Laurie Murdoch, David Ferry, Lara Jean Chorostecki – Dan for Mayor
* Gavin Crawford, Mark Critch, Geri Hall, Cathy Jones, Shaun Majumder – This Hour Has 22 Minutes
* Jesse Camacho, Wendel Meldrum, Benjamin Arthur, Nancy Sorel, Maury Chaykin, Brooke Palsson – Less Than Kind
* Laurie Elliott, Inessa Frantowski, Agam Darshi, Ryan Kelly, Ingrid Hart – Almost Audrey
* Pat Thornton, Sandy Jobin-Bevans, Levi MacDougall, Jeff McEnery, Vivieno Caldinelli, Tal Zimerman – Hotbox


2 thoughts on “Canadian Comedy Award nominees announced”

  1. Any comedy awards that nominate terrible, insulting, unfunny shows like Hotbox and Little Mosque…. I refuse to pay any attention to. Nice to see Less Than Kind nominated that show is awesome.

  2. Yeah Little Mosque blows goat arse and Hotbox is one of the worst shows I’ve ever seen and it is nominated like three times? Screw that that show sucks.

Comments are closed.