Blackstone season 2 in production; Autograph signing and win a role

From a media release:


  • Award-winning drama begins shooting season 2 on July 18

Prairie Dog Film + Television is pleased to announce that the second season of Blackstone will begin production in Edmonton and rural Alberta on July 18.

Following the first season’s cliffhanger finale, Season 2 picks up after the strip club shooting, and continues to delve into the tumultuous lives of the residents on the fictional Blackstone First Nation Reserve. Returning to the screen are cast members Carmen Moore, Eric Schweig, Michelle Thrush, Nathaniel Arcand, Roseanne Supernault, Steven Cree Molison and Andrea Menard. Season 2 will see the addition of the acclaimed Gary Farmer and Tantoo Cardinal to the cast.

Intense, compelling and confrontational, Blackstone is an unmuted exploration of power, politics and relationships on a First Nation reserve. The one-hour television drama, which has already won five awards, is unlike any other show in Canadian television.


To celebrate the start of Season 2 production, an autograph signing will take place in West Edmonton Mall (Newcap Stage) on Saturday July 23 at 1:00pm. Fans will have the opportunity to meet-and-greet Blackstone cast members, and enter to win prizes.


During the autograph signing session at West Edmonton Mall, a video booth will be set up for participants to ‘audition’ for a part in Blackstone. Script pages will be provided, and the top ten auditions will be posted online. Ultimately, fans will decide who will win a role in Season 2 that will be written into the series specifically for them.


Blackstone is produced by Edmonton’s Prairie Dog Film + Television, with Ron E. Scott as executive producer, writer and director, Jesse Szymanski as producer, Damon Vignale as producer and writer, and Gil Cardinal as writer. It’s produced in association with Aboriginal Peoples Television Network, with the assistance of the Government of Alberta, Alberta Media Fund, with the participation of the Canada Media Fund and with the assistance of The Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit.