CTV orders Satisfaction


From a media release:

Bell Media’s CTV Orders New Half-Hour Original Comedy SATISFACTION

  • Ensemble comedy stars Luke MacFarlane, Stephanie Lemelin, Ryan Belleville, Vik Sahay, and Leah Renee
  • Tim McAuliffe and Michael Donovan partner on new relationship comedy

Phil King, President, CTV Programming and Sports, announced today from the Television Critics Association tour in Pasadena, CA that CTV has ordered to series the new half-hour Canadian scripted comedy series SATISFACTION, starring Luke MacFarlane (BROTHERS AND SISTERS), Stephanie Lemelin (BONES), Ryan Belleville (THE L.A. COMPLEX), Vik Sahay (CHUCK), and Leah Renee (THE PLAYBOY CLUB). From Halifax’s DHX Media, the ensemble comedy series is written by Tim McAuliffe (UP ALL NIGHT, THE OFFICE) and produced by Michael Donovan (Bowling for Columbine, THIS HOUR HAS 22 MINUTES). CTV has ordered 12 half-hour episodes in addition to the pilot shot last fall in Toronto. The series is set to begin production in late spring.

The pick-up announcement for SATISFACTION comes as CTV also orders today the ensemble undercover detective drama PLAYED (working title). The two programs join CTV’s burgeoning lineup of original scripted series including MOTIVE, SAVING HOPE, and THE LISTENER.

SATISFACTION takes a humorous look at a group of friends who are completely uninhibited as they share their relationship woes and romantic wins, life crises, and personal ambitions. Dedicated single man Mark (Belleville) hustles the dating scene while his best friends and long-term couple Jason (MacFarlane) and Maggie (Lemelin) work at keeping the sparks flying as they face the day-to-day challenges of being in a committed relationship. Neighbours Nancy (Renee) and Dan (Sahay) have a marriage that proves that, while opposites can definitely attract, it can also deliver some seriously epic volatility.

SATISFACTION is produced by DHX Media is association with CTV. Executive producer is Michael Donovan and Tim McAuliffe is executive producer/writer. Keith Samples (EVERWOOD, ONE TREE HILL) is director. Sarah Fowlie is Director, Independent Production, Comedy, Bell Media. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice-President, Programming, CTV Networks. Phil King is President, CTV Programming and Sports.