Guilt Free Zone to rock late night on APTN


From a media release:

Leave your guilt behind and enter the “Guilt Free Zone” – APTN’s edgy new late-night flagship series hosted by Juno award-winning artist Derek Miller – for performances by the hippest Aboriginal musical artists, no-holds-barred monologues, and provocative dance and comedy performances plus a whole lot more. Shot in Toronto, Montreal, Hamilton, Regina, and Winnipeg in front of live-studio audiences, “Guilt Free Zone” (6 x 30’) airs Tuesdays on APTN East and HD at 10 p.m. and APTN West at 10:00 p.m. MT starting January 6.

“’Guilt Free Zone’ exposes audiences to new talent in music, comedy, and dance while exploring settler and Indigenous people’s collective guilt through comedy, satire, and truth,” says Derek Miller, host, “Guilt Free Zone.”

Each episode of the variety and performance series “Guilt Free Zone” asks Canadians to do something many have never been asked to do before when watching TV – openly enjoy discussing often taboo topics like sex, guilty pleasures and more – all while being entertained by the best Aboriginal acts. Host Derek Miller leads the charge, taking audiences on a wild ride with his unique sense of humour and interview style. Each entertaining performance is peppered with recurring characters who pop by to shake things up even more.

Performers this season include Inez Jasper, Jayli Wolf, hip hop artist Plex, comedian Lucas Jacko, Brendt Thomas Diablo, burlesque dancer Miss Lou Lou la Duchesse de Riere, Craig James Laur, Night Switch, The Snake Oil Salesmen, Ali Fontaine and Leonard Sumner.

Guitarist and singer/ songwriter Derek Miller is a musician with eclectic taste and a knack for roots inflected rock. From the Six Nations of the Grand River, Mohawk Territory, Miller became interested in music in his early teens, and by the late ’90s had not only toured with iconic vocalist Buffy Sainte-Marie but was also garnered a Juno for both his debut album, and sophomore album in 2008. Miller completed his third studio album in collaboration with Stevie Ray Vaughn’s band ‘Double Trouble’. The first single of the album is a duet featuring Derek Miller with Willie Nelson.