Production begins on Global’s new original drama The Code starring Jason Priestley

From a media release:

– Set to premiere on Global in Spring 2016, the series is produced by Entertainment One in association with Shaw Media –

Entertainment One Television (eOne) and Shaw Media announced today that production has begun on The Code (working title) starring Golden Globe nominee and Canadian Screen Award winner Jason Priestley. Set to premiere on Global in spring 2016, this new 10-episode one-hour drama series is a rousing P.I. procedural with a wry wit that combines drama, humour, and romance. Priestley plays “Matt ‘Shadow’ Shade”, an ex-pro hockey player who uses his ability to read people and anticipate their moves in his new gig as a crime-solving P.I. along with his smart, beautiful, and feisty partner “Angie Everett” played by Cindy Sampson (Rogue, Rookie Blue).

Shot on location in and around Toronto, The Code takes a modern spin on the classic noir hero story, as Matt and Angie investigate a wide range of fascinating cases from fraud to adultery to conspiracy and murder, while offering a great relationship drama along the way.

Additional cast include Barry Flatman (Fargo, Defiance) as Shade’s father “Don” – the ultimate blue-collar hockey dad. Matt Shade wouldn’t be the ex-pro athlete that he is if Don hadn’t driven him to every game and pushed him to be focused and hard-working. Jordyn Negri (Warehouse 13, Dino Dan) plays Shade’s visually impaired daughter “Jules” who is wise beyond her years but yearns to fit in – just like every 14-year-old.

The Code will also feature guest stars throughout the season, including hockey legend Doug Gilmour who makes a cameo in episode one.

The Code is executive produced by John Morayniss and Rachel Fulford for eOne along with Shawn Piller, Lloyd Segan, Shelley Eriksen, Alan McCullough, Tassie Cameron, Kelly Makin and Jason Priestley. Showrunners/writers are Shelley Eriksen (Continuum, Flashpoint) and Alan McCullough (Rookie Blue, Reign). Set to direct this season are Kelly Makin, Anne Wheeler, Shawn Piller, Charles Officer, Jason Priestley, Rob Lieberman and Jerry Ciccoritti.