Jay Baruchel joins the Letterkenny cast in feature role as production begins on next six-pack

From a media release:

CraveTV confirmed today that Montréal-born actor, director, producer – and reported Habs fan – Jay Baruchel, joins the LETTERKENNY cast as Hard Right Jay  – a Tiki Torch-carrying out-of-towner, who stirs things up in Letterkenny – in an all-new six-pack of episodes. If that’s not enough to toot your horn, this round also features social media-mega star Evan Breen, taking on the role of Straight Edge Eric, Jay’s trusty side-kick. Sarah Gadon returns in the new block of episodes, reprising her role as mysterious lady-skid, Gae.

Returning to direct is Jacob Tierney, who also reprises his fan-favourite role as Christian leader, Glen. Currently in production in Sudbury, ON, and set to launch in 2018, the new six-pack focuses on the rising City vs. Rural tensions – which basically means a bunch of “citiots” could get their arses kicked. But it’s not all scrappin’ ‘cause Wayne’s still looking for love.

Also joining the cast this six-pack are Alex Harrouch (Degrassi) as resident skid and IT expert, Everett; Magalie Lépine Blondeau as Wayne’s incroyable love interest; Pierre Yves Cardinal as Jean Claude; and Kelly McCormack (Killjoys) and Jess Salgueiro (Saving Hope) as Shamrockette stars Mary-Anne and Betty-Anne.

Created by and starring Jared Keeso, the award-winning half-hour comedy is produced by New Metric Media in partnership with DHX Media and Playfun Games.

LETTERKENNY revolves around the dustups Wayne (Jared Keeso) and his buds get into with their small-town rivals. The Hicks, The Skids, and The Hockey Players get at each other about the most mundane things, often ending with someone getting their ass kicked. Key residents of LETTERKENNY are Daryl (Nathan Dales), Wayne’s free-spirited younger sister Katy (Michelle Mylett), and Wayne’s buddy, Dan (K Trevor Wilson) – all Hicks. CSA-nominated Daniel Petronijevic returns as Hick McMurray. Dylan Playfair and Andrew Herr reprise their roles as hotshot Hockey Players “Jonesy” and “Reilly”. Tyler Johnston and Evan Stern return as Skids Stewart and Roald. Mark Forward returns as the temperamental Coach of the Letterkenny Irish and Tiio Horn is back as badass leader of The Natives, Tanis. As well, Sébastien Huberdeau, Alexandre Landry, Domenic Di Rosa, and Kim Cloutier reprise their roles as The Hicks’ Québécois counterparts, Les Hiques.

Based on the internet sensation Letterkenny Problems, the half-hour comedy is currently a top performer and marquee program for CraveTV since its memorable launch on Super Bowl Sunday in 2015. Season 1 of LETTERKENNY took home three 2017 Canadian Screen Awards for Best Comedy Series, Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series, and Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series. As well, series creator Jared Keeso and co-writer and director Jacob Tierney have been recognized with a Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Award for TV Comedy.

Seasons 1 – 3, along with special episodes “Ferda Edition”, “The Haunting of MoDean’s II”, “St. Perfect’s Day,” and the original web series Letterkenny Problems are currently streaming on CraveTV. LETTERKENNY is also available on iTunes and Google Play. Season 1 of LETTERKENNY will also be available on DVD, November 21, wherever DVDs are sold.

Today’s news comes on the heels of the recently announced 40-plus episode production commitment and comprehensive multi-year partnership between CraveTV and series producers New Metric Media. The deal also supports a 30-city LETTERKENNY LIVE! tour starring Jared Keeso (Wayne), Nathan Dales (Daryl), K Trevor Wilson (Dan) and Mark Forward (Coach).

LETTERKENNY is produced by New Metric Media, in partnership with DHX Media and Playfun Games in association with Bell Media, with the participation of Canadian Media Fund, OMDC Tax Credits and the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit and the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund and distributed by DHX Media. Jared Keeso is executive producer, co-writer, star, and creator, Jacob Tierney is executive producer, director, and co-writer. Executive producers are Mark Montefiore for New Metric Media, and Patrick O’Sullivan. Steven DeNure is  Co-Founder, President and COO of DHX Media.