WGC Screenwriting Award nominations announced

From a media release:

Outstanding list of finalists announced for the 2009 WGC Screenwriting Awards

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) will celebrate the winning words of 2008 on April 20 at the 13th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards, honouring excellence in screenwriting. More than 150 scripts vied for the judges’ attentions this year. The entries have been narrowed to 37 finalist scripts across 11 categories, including screenwriting for feature film, episodic half-hours and one-hours, documentary film and more. In all, 51 screenwriters are up for awards. Several special awards, including the WGC Showrunner Award, will also be handed out at the event. Click here for a full list of nominees.

Among the finalists, you will find the writers of television favourites such as Corner Gas, Flashpoint, Murdoch Mysteries, This Hour has 22 Minutes, 6Teen and more. Numbered among the finalists also are feature screenwriters Paul Gross for Passchendaele, Michael McGowan for One Week, and Don McKellar for Blindness. A complete list of finalists accompanies this release.

All winners will be announced at the 2009 WGC Screenwriting Awards on Monday, April 20, 2009, at Maro Nightclub in Liberty Village, Toronto.

Guest host (and finalist) Geri Hall (22 Minutes) will keep the evening lively and fun, toasting the finalists and marshalling special guest presenters. Geri Hall and Kyle Tingley (also a finalist for 22 Minutes) will write the awards show.

Last year’s winners included Mark Farrell and Robert Sheridan for Corner Gas, Ian Weir for Dragon Boys, Denis McGrath and Robert Wertheimer for Across the River to Motor City and Travis McDonald for the feature film Normal.

The 2009 finalists reflect the high level of achievement of Canadian screenwriters across the categories – which this year, for the first time, include short film and animation.