Canadian Comedy Award nominees announced

From a media release:


Taped Live Performance
Debra DiGiovanni – “Halifax Comedy Festival”
Laurie Elliot – “Just For Laughs Gala”
Jeremy Hotz – “Just For Laughs Gala”
Jeremy Hotz – “What a Miserable Show This Is”
Ron Sparks – “Comedy Now”

Direction – Television Program or Series
Adam Brodie and Dave Derewlany – “The Jon Dore TV Show (Jon Gets Haunted)”
Matt Hawkins – “The Jon Dore TV Show (Jon Gets Horny)”
Ryan Keller – “Bravo! Fact Presents: The Second City’s Facebook of Revelations”
Brian Roberts – “Da Kink in My Hair, Ep. 209”
Shawn Alex Thompson – “Less Than Kind”

Writing – Television Program or Series
Mark Critch, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Jennifer Whalen, Albert Howell, Tim McAuliffe, Dean Jenkinson, Geri Hall, Nathan Fielder, Joanne O’Sullivan, Peter White – “This Hour Has 22 Minutes, XVI Episode 12”
Marvin Kaye and Chris Sheasgreen – “Less Than Kind”
Irwin Barker, Greg Eckler, Chris Finn, Paul Mather, Rick Mercer, Tim Steeves – “Rick Mercer Report”
Bruce Pirrie, Darryl Hinds, Jim Annan, Karen Parker, Lauren Ash, Marty Adams, Scott Montgomery – “Bravo! Fact Presents: The Second City Facebook of Revelations”
Ron Sparks – “Comedy Now”

Performance by a Male – Television
Gavin Crawford – “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”
Jon Dore – “The Jon Dore TV Show”
Nathan Fielder – “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”
Peter Oldring – “Good Morning World”
Alan Park – “Royal Canadian Air Farce”

Performance by a Female – Television
Aimee Beaudoin – “Caution: May Contain Nuts”
Inga Cadranel – “Rent-A-Goalie”
Geri Hall – “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”
Cathy Jones – “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”
Wendel Meldrum – “Less Than Kind”

Performance by an Ensemble – Television
Bravo! Fact Presents: The Second City’s Facebook of Revelations
Good Morning World
Less Than Kind
The Latest Buzz
Three Chords From The Truth

The Award ceremony takes place on Friday, October 2 at the Imperial Theatre which will be taped for broadcast by The Comedy Network to be aired at a later date. The Last Laugh Gala rocks the Imperial Theatre on Saturday October 3. The Last Laugh Gala is a crazy fast paced variety extravaganza and will feature the year’s top talent and is sure to be the best evening of comedy north of the 49th parallel.


4 thoughts on “Canadian Comedy Award nominees announced”

  1. Some interesting nominees, glad to see Gavin Crawford as a continued nominee for best performance, Male. Mostly, glad to see fresh star Nathan Fielder – uniquely hillarious.

  2. Impressed with choice of Nathan Fielder as best male performer, recognizing his unique style and the buzz he’s created on that show.

Comments are closed.