WGC Screenwriting Award winners announced

From a media release:

Canada’s top screenwriters honoured at the 2010 WGC Screenwriting Awards

The Writers Guild of Canada celebrated the winning words of Canadian screenwriters tonight at the 14th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards. 148 scripts were nominated in the Awards’ 11 categories, and 43 finalist scripts vied for the winners’ circle.

Screenwriters Robert C. Cooper (Stargate Universe), Jacob Tierney (The Trotsky), Garry Campbell (Less Than Kind) and Kate Barris (Max and Ruby) were just of few of those recognized for outstanding scripts. A complete list of winners follows.

Screenwriter Heather Conkie (Road to Avonlea, Dark Oracle, Heartland) was presented with the 4th Annual WGC Showrunner Award to honour her exceptional leadership and creative vision.

Screenwriter and showrunner Peter Mitchell (Traders, Cold Squad, The Guard) was presented with the Alex Barris Mentorship Award for his uncanny ability to identify talent and give people the opportunity to justify his faith in them.

Screenwriter, showrunner and WGC President, Rebecca Schechter was given the WGC Writers Block Award for her exceptional service to screenwriters over her terms as President and with the WGC Council.

The awards were hosted by Debra DiGiovanni, and written by Steven and Daniel Shehori in collaboration with Debra.

Dishing out the awards were special guest presenters including Yannick Bisson (Murdoch Mysteries), Kristin Booth (Crackie, Young People F*cking), Inga Cadranel (The Bridge, Rent-a-Goalie), Enrico Colantoni (Flashpoint), and screenwriters Mark Farrell (Corner Gas, Dan for Mayor), Michael McGowan (Saint Ralph, One Week), Jennifer Pertsch (6Teen, Total Drama Island), Christin Simms (Captain Flamingo, Dino Dan), Shelley Eriksen (ReGenesis) and Leila Basen & David Preston (Heartland).

14th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards Winners


Total Drama Action “The Sand Witch Project”

Written by Shelley Scarrow


Max and Ruby “Max Says Goodbye”

Written by Kate Barris


The Royal Winnipeg Ballet – 40 Years of One Night Stands

Narration Written by Robert Lower


Less Than Kind “The Daters”

Written by Garry Campbell


Stargate Universe “Time”

Written by Robert C. Cooper


The Trotsky

Written by Jacob Tierney


The Summit

Written by John Krizanc


Afghanada “Episode 61”

Written by Barbara Samuels


Being Erica “Webisodes”

Written by Jessie Gabe


This Hour Has 22 Minutes XVII “Episode 6”

Head Writer: Ed Macdonald / Written by Mark Critch, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Dean Jenkinson, Joanne O’Sullivan, Tara Doyle, Erik van Wyck, Mike Allison, Joey Case


How to be Indie “How to be a Mehta”

Written by Anita Kapila

The WGC Showrunner Award – Heather Conkie

The WGC Writers Block Award – Rebecca Schechter

The Alex Barris Mentorship Award – Peter Mitchell


2 thoughts on “WGC Screenwriting Award winners announced”

  1. Hi, Diane!

    Thank you for posting this news so quickly!

    And — Woo-hoo! – RCC won for SGU’s Time!

    Congratulations to all the nominees!

  2. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners, but most especially to Robert Cooper for the Stargate Universe episode “Time.” It was well deserved.

Comments are closed.