WGC Screenwriting Award winners announced

From a media release:

Canada’s top screenwriters honoured at the 15th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards

The Writers Guild of Canada and about 600 of its closest friends celebrated the winning words of Canadian screenwriters tonight at the 15th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards.

Screenwriters Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern (Flashpoint), Chris Sheasgreen (Less Than Kind), Karen Moonah (Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That) and Michael Konyves (Barney’s Version) were just of few of those recognized for outstanding scripts. A complete list of winners follows.

Screenwriter Tassie Cameron (Flashpoint, Rookie Blue) was presented with the 5th WGC Showrunner Award to honour her exceptional leadership and creative vision.

Screenwriter Denise Blinn took home the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize for her script “1936.” The Prize honours the CBC’s Jim Burt and his legacy of championing new talent, by providing support for an unproduced screenplay.

Toronto lawyer Peter Grant was recognized with the WGC Writers Block Award for the work he did over his career to strengthen the arguments and increase the support for quality Canadian drama.

The Awards show was hosted by Laurie Elliott, and written by Terry McGurrin in collaboration with Laurie.

Dishing out the awards were special guest presenters including Hélène Joy (Murdoch Mysteries, Durham County), Chris Potter (Heartland), Jonny Harris (Murdoch Mysteries, Grown Up Movie Star), and screenwriters Dennis Heaton (Call Me Fitz, Fido, My Pal Satan), David (Sudz) Sutherland (Guns, She’s the Mayor) and Alexandra Zarowny (Murdoch Mysteries, Republic of Doyle, The Listener).

15th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards Winners…

In Animation

Karen Moonah
The Cat In The Hat Knows A Lot About That, “The Cat In The Hat Knows A Lot About Maps”

In Children & Youth

Barbara Haynes
The Latest Buzz, “The Extreme Shakespeare Issue”

In Documentary

Christine Nielsen
The Pig Farm

In TV Comedy

Chris Sheasgreen
Less Than Kind, “Coming Home”

In TV Drama

Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern
Flashpoint, “Jumping at Shadows”

In Movies & Miniseries

Michael Konyves
Barney’s Version

In Shorts & Web Series

Lisa Hunter
You Are So Undead

The WGC Showrunner Award – Tassie Cameron
The WGC Writers Block Award – Peter Grant
The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize – Denise Blinn