WGC Screenwriting Award winners announced


From a media release:

The 2013 WGC Screenwriting Awards Winners – Celebrating Canada’s Screenwriters

It was a loud and lively night in downtown Toronto as the Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) celebrated Canada’s screenwriters at the 17th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards. More than 600 revelers from the film, TV and digital media industry came together to congratulate the finalists and cheer the winners.

Screenwriters Andrew Wreggitt (The Phantoms), Martin Gero (L.A. Complex), Kim Coghill (Less Than Kind), Dan Williams & Lienne Sawatsky (Sidekick) and Julie Strassman-Cohn & Jill Golick (Ruby Skye PI) were just a few of those recognized. A complete list of winners is below.

The co-creators of Flashpoint, Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern, were recognized with the prestigious WGC Showrunner Award for their leadership and the creative vision that took the show through five spectacular seasons.

Screenwriters Anne-Marie Perrotta, Simon Racioppa and Lienne Sawatsky received the WGC Writers Block Award for their invaluable contribution at the bargaining table and beyond, assisting the WGC in obtaining minimum fees for animation writing.

The 2013 WGC Screenwriting Awards show was hosted by Ryan Belleville (Satisfaction, Almost Heroes) and written by Bob Kerr (22 Minutes). Dishing out awards were special guest presenters including Yannick Bisson (Murdoch Mysteries), Sergio Di Zio (Flashpoint), Erica Durance (Saving Hope), Susin Nielsen (Robson Arms; Arctic Air), Dave Lawrence (Fubar; Fubar II) and Ken Craw (Heartland).

2013 WGC Screenwriting Awards Winners


Sidekick “I, Sidebot”
Written by Dan Williams & Lienne Sawatsky


How To Be Indie “How To Make a Christmas Miracle”
Written by John May & Suzanne Bolch


A Sorry State
Written by Mitch Miyagawa


The Phantoms
Written by Andrew Wreggitt


Ruby Skye P.I.: The Haunted Library “#Creepy”
Written by Julie Strassman-Cohn & Jill Golick


Less Than Kind “Jerk Chicken”
Written by Kim Coghill


The L.A. Complex “Down in L.A.”
Written by Martin Gero


WGC Showrunner Award – Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern (Flashpoint)

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize – Wild Medicine by Adam Garnet Jones

Writers Block Award – Anne-Marie Perrotta, Simon Racioppa & Lienne Sawatsky