Screen Nova Scotia announces 2019 award nominees

From a media release:

Screen Nova Scotia is pleased to announce the nominees for the 5th annual Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala, taking place Friday, May 3rd at 8:00 p.m. in the Schooner Room at Casino Nova Scotia. The awards recognize and celebrate the incredible talent, creativity, and passion that are the trademarks of Nova Scotia’s film, television and animation industry.

The event will be co-hosted by a star-studded cast, and a diverse audience of Nova Scotia’s brightest and most creative talents will be in attendance. Individual tickets and group tables are on sale now via Screen Nova Scotia’s website: Please note that tickets are limited and last year’s show was a sold-out event.

Notable awards include the ACTRA Awards for Outstanding Performances, the Film Crew Excellence Award, the Digital Animators of Nova Scotia Award, the Women in Film & Television Atlantic Award, and the Community Recognition Award, along with Screen Nova Scotia awards for best television, film, and animation.

New this year, Paul Bronfman and William F. White International Inc. will be receiving the inaugural Industry Champion Award in recognition of the 25th anniversary of the production services company setting up shop in Halifax, and our appreciation of their continued and unwavering support of the Nova Scotia screen industry.


Screen Nova Scotia Awards:

Best Feature Film
Aliens With Knives (Winter Light Productions)
Halloween Party (Northeast Films)
Hopeless Romantic (Northeast Films / LJH Films)
Splinters (Emotion Pictures)

Best Documentary Film
In French, S’il Vous Plaît! (Les Productions du 4e Mur)
Needles (Clerisy Entertainment)
The Social Shift (Mirror Image Media)
The Trauma Toll (Clerisy Entertainment)

Best Short Film
Bernie Langille Wants To Know…Who Killed Bernie Langille (Peep Media)
Borscht & Fresh Bread (Sarah Gignac)
Duck Duck Goose (Shelley Thompson)
It’s Only Monday (Nicole Steeves)

Best Television Series
Forgive Me – Season 3 (Emotion Pictures)
Mr. D – Season 8 (Topsail Entertainment)
This House Has 22 Minutes – Season XXV (DHX – Hour Productions)
Trailer Park Boys – Season 12 (Sunnyvale Productions)

Best Animated Series
Addison (Boulevard Productions)
Care Bears (Copernicus Studios)
Spaceman and Robotron (Lujo Films Inc. / Connections Productions)

ACTRA Maritimes Awards for Outstanding Performances:

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Female Role
Francine Deschepper (Duck Duck Goose)
Bette MacDonald (Mr. D)
Shelley Thompson (Splinters)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Male Role
Callum Dunphy (Splinters)
Bailey Maughan (Splinters)
Jordan Poole (Creeped Out)
T. Thomason (Halloween Party)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Female Role
Francine Deschepper (Hopeless Romantic)
Marietta Laan (Halloween Party)
Kathryn MacLellan (Hopeless Romantic)
Shelley Thompson (Halloween Party)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Male Role
Jeremy Ackerman (Forgive Me)
Taylor Olson (Hopeless Romantic)
Jordan Poole (Birthmarked)
Bill Wood (Mr. D)

WIFT-AT Award for Best Director:
Nicole Steeves (It’s Only Monday)
Shelley Thompson (Duck Duck Goose)
Jackie Torrens (Bernie Langille Wants to Know…Who Killed Bernie Langille)
Andrea Vandenboer (Climate Change and the Human Prospect)

DANS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Animation:
Gwyneth Christoffel (Radical Age)
Paton Francis & Krista MacKinnon (Addison)
Don Pinsent & Team (Spaceman and Robotron)

Industry Champion Award:
Paul Bronfman, Chairman/CEO, William F. White International Inc.

Winners of the Community Recognition Award and the Film Crew Excellence Award will be announced live during the event.