Screen Nova Scotia announces 2022 award nominees and return to in-person gala

From a media release:

Screen Nova Scotia is pleased to officially announce the nominees for the 8th annual Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala, which will take place on Saturday, June 18th, in the Schooner Ballroom at Casino Nova Scotia. The awards recognize and celebrate the incredible talent, creativity, and passion that are the trademarks of Nova Scotia’s film, television and animation industry. This will be the first full capacity, in-person awards gala since 2019 when the COVID-19 pandemic moved the event to an online format for two years.

Notable awards presented during the event include the ACTRA Maritimes Awards for Outstanding Performances, the Film Crew Excellence Award, the Women in Film & Television – Atlantic Award, the Community Recognition Award, and the Screen Nova Scotia awards for best television, film, and animation. New SNS award categories this year include the award for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography and the Groundbreaking Performance Award, which includes a cash prize of $500 and will be awarded to a diverse performer who does not yet meet the eligibility criteria for the ACTRA awards for their work in a film or television/web series.

Additionally, ACTRA has updated their awards to remove categorization based on gender, type of role, and format. There are now four awards handed out from the list of twenty nominees for “Outstanding Performance,” determined by a jury of their peers.

The event will be co-hosted by a star-studded cast featuring some of Nova Scotia’s brightest talents from in front of and behind the camera. Individual tickets and group tables are on sale now via Screen Nova Scotia’s website: Please note that tickets are limited and our last in-person show was a sold-out event.

The winners of the Community Recognition Award, the Film Crew Excellence Award, and the Groundbreaking Performance Award will be announced live during the event.

Best Feature Film
– 8:37 Rebirth (Rebirth Films Inc.)
– Dawn, Her Dad & the Tractor (Picture Plant Inc.)
– Night Blooms (Shut Up & Colour Pictures)
– Wildhood (Rebel Road Films)

Best Documentary Film
– A New World of Hurt (Auguste Content, Clothesline Media)
– Deserted (The Lunenburg Doc Fest, Picnic Studios)
– Freedom Swell (Mirror Image Media)
– The New Human (McLean Media Enterprises, Dreamsmith Entertainment)

Best Short Film
– The Artistic Accountant (Make Your Day Productions)
– Baduk (You First Productions)
– Breakout (Blurry Logo Productions)
– Dust Bath (CUT/OFF/TAIL Pictures)

Best Television Series
– Diggstown, S3 (Waterstar Entertainment, Circle Blue Entertainment)
– Moonshine, S1 (Six Eleven Media)
– Spirit Talker S2 (Rebel Road Films, Tell Tale Productions)
– This Hour Has 22 Minutes S29 (22M Hour Productions)

Best Animated Series
– The Casagrandes (Jam Filled Entertainment)
– Dennis & Me S2 (Cartoon Conrad)
– Teen Titans Go! S6 (Copernicus Entertainment)

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
– Kevin Fraser
– Halley Hellmich
– Paul McCurdy
– Jeff Wheaton

WIFT-AT — Best Nova Scotia Director Award:
– Stephanie Joline (Night Blooms)
– Induk Lee (Baduk)
– Christine McLean (The New Human)
– Juanita Peters (8:37 Rebirth)
– Shelley Thompson (Dawn, Her Dad & the Tractor)

ACTRA Maritimes Awards for Outstanding Performances:
– Beth Amiro (Second Wedding)
– Vinessa Antoine (Diggstown S3)
– Mary-Colin Chisholm (Wildhood)
– Francine Deschepper (Dawn, Her Dad & the Tractor)
– Pasha Ebrahim (8:37 Rebirth)
– Susan Kent (Diggstown S3)
– Celia Koughan (Moonshine)
– Koumbie (I Hate You)
– Calem MacDonald (Night Blooms)
– Bob Mann (Second Wedding)
– Alexandra McDonald (Night Blooms)
– Desna Michael Thomas (Wildhood)
– Taylor Olson (I Hate You)
– Reid Price (Dawn, Her Dad & the Tractor)
– Jennie Raymond (Night Blooms)
– Jacob Sampson (Diggstown S3)
– Amy Trefry (8:37 Rebirth)
– Rob Wells (Dawn, Her Dad & the Tractor)
– Samantha Wilson (Night Blooms)
– Avery Winters-Anthony (Wildhood)

Moonshine image courtesy of Sheri Elwood.