Tag Archives: 7th Gen

Eagle Vision and APTN’s 7TH GEN returns for Season Two

From a media release:

Eagle Vision and APTN’s factual series 7TH GEN returns for season two with ten new episodes featuring some of the most inspiring young Indigenous leaders from across the country. The series returns for season two on APTN in English on Friday, October 13th at 8 pm (PST/ET) and on Monday, October 9th at 8:30 pm (PST/ET) and again on Tuesday, October 10th at 7:30 am (PST/ET) in Cree. 

The idea from which 7TH GEN was sparked was the vision that positive stories of young Indigenous leaders need to be told. There are countless stories of young Indigenous people committed to making a powerful mark on the world, who are not only making an impact in their communities, but are doing so by reclaiming their culture.. Every day, the successes that emerge from this generation are inspiring other young people to share their gifts, to overcome the obstacles they face, and to inspire others by living their best lives. There are so many young Indigenous people who want to share their inspiration with others and celebrate their culture. 7TH GEN celebrates their accomplishments and honours the Elders and Knowledge Keepers who have supported them in their journeys. 

The series is hosted by dynamic Cree hosts Ivana Yellowback, Darcy Waite and Lorraine George and follows subjects including performer, motivational speaker, educator and advocate Laura Grizzlypaws (a descendant of the Stʼatʼimc Nation, from the Bear Clan community of Xwísten, and from Lillooet, BC), hockey coaches and NHL athletes Brandon and Jordan Nolan (from Garden River First Nation), entrepreneur, chef and community leader Melissa Brown (an Anishinaabe Ojibway-Jamaican woman from Winnipeg who grew up in the inner city), athlete, coach/educator, live-stream gamer Jon-Ross Merasty-Moose (Cree from O-Pipon-Na-Piwin Cree Nation, Brochet and Thompson, Manitoba), advocate and post-secondary student Makaela Blake  (Inuit-Punjabi, originally from Gander, Newfoundland), and music producer and recording artist Matthew Monias aka Mattmac (an Oji-Cree, blind recording artist from Garden Hill First Nation).

7TH GEN also features multidisciplinary artist Taalrumiq (an Inuvialuk and Gwich’in from Tuktoyaktuk, Inuvialuit Settlement Region, Northwest Territories), environmental and clean energy developer Mihskakwan James Harper (Cree from Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation), artist, poet, writer, musician and activist Natasha Kanapé Fontaine (Innu from Pessamit, now living in Montréal), and two spirit, drag performer and content creator Layten Byhette, otherwise known as Chelazon Leroux (Dene from Buffalo River Dene Nation and Fond Du Lac First Nation).

The series is accompanied by a strong element of language reclamation in both the series and online, with Cree-versioned episodes, and a Cree language-learning web series. 7TH GEN also provides a showcase for young Indigenous filmmakers, writers, directors, producers, editors and others who have been given the opportunity to share their gifts and gain more experience in the industry by creating content that focuses on Indigenous stories, culture, and spiritual lessons for an audience of all people around the world.

7TH GEN is written, directed and showrun by Dinae Robinson (True Story), co-creator/executive producer and director is Lisa Meeches (The Sharing Circle), co-creator/executive producer, writer and director is Rebecca Gibson (Buffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On), co-creator/executive producer Kyle Irving (Capote), associate producer/writer/director Cynthia Murdock (DJ Burnt Bannock), producer Hannah Johnson (Diaspora), writer/director Jessica Landry (List of a Lifetime), director Ervin Chartrand (The Redemption Artist), writer and head of archival research Damian Panciera (True Story Part Two), writer Katarina Ziervogel (Finality of Dusk) and director of photography is Gabriel Levesque (El Toro). 

7TH Gen was made possible through the support of the Canada Media Fund, APTN, the Indigenous Screen Office, MIGIZI Distribution and Eagle Vision Canada.