Toronto Screenwriting Conference announces winners of the Magee TV Diverse Screenwriters Award

From a media release:

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) today announced the six winners of the second annual Magee TV Diverse Screenwriters Award, a mentorship and bursary program created to help emerging and mid-level screenwriters from diverse backgrounds to be mentored, to network with Canadian television professionals, and be exposed to leaders in the field of screen-based writing.

To achieve this objective, each of the six winners — Cara Lynn Branch, Elene Mekete, Ian Steaman, Murry Peeters, Rebecca Grenier, and Veronika Paz — will receive a complimentary registration for the highly anticipated two-day conference taking place in Toronto over the weekend of June 23-24. The winners will also join veteran Canadian producer/writer Al Magee (founder of Magee TV) for several networking events, with each receiving a one-on-one three-month mentorship with senior Canadian screenwriting professionals Alejandro Alcoba, Marsha Greene, Duana Taha, Pat Mills, Noelle Carbone and Eva Thomas.

The winners were chosen based on submissions that included the following four criteria: one concept for an original series or feature film, one writing sample, a letter of interest and intent, and a letter of reference. The TSC and Magee TV also recognize the Diverse Screenwriters Award’s seven finalists: Caitlin English, Fiona Clarke, Julia Skikavich, Kim Gonsalves, Michelle Yeo, Margaret Hoffman, and Maxine Grossman.

The Ninth Annual Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) is a two-day weekend event that brings together screen-based industry professionals and offers them an advanced level of education and skills development unparalleled by any other screenwriting event on the continent. The conference takes place on June 23 and 24, 2018 at the TIFF Bell Lightbox (Conference) and Artscape Sandbox.

This year’s speakers Chip Johannessen (Homeland), Stacy Rukeyser (Unreal), and Ben Watkins (Hand of God) will present Masterclass Lectures at the conference. Returning (by popular demand) are story gurus Carole Kirshner & Corey Mandell, with more programming and speaker announcements to come. Previous conference speakers have included Andrew Stanton (Finding Dory), Moira Walley Beckett (Breaking Bad), Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3), David Webb Peoples (Blade Runner), Tim Long (The Simpsons), Leonard Dick (The Good Wife), Glen Mazzara (The Walking Dead), and Beau Willimon (House of Cards).

For more details and to register for this year’s conference, click here.