Mr. D and Orphan Black topline WGC Awards

CBC’s Mr. D and Space’s Orphan Black were among the winners at the 19th annual Writers Guild of Canada Awards delivered from the TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning’s Koerner Hall on Monday night.

Rounding out the glitzfest—hosted by Ryan Belleville (Satisfaction)—were trophies for Fangbone, Elephant and R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour. 19-2 showrunner Bruce M. Smith was given the Showrunner Award, Alison Lea Bingeman (The Pinkertons) the Sondra Kelly Award and Denis McGrath (X Company) the Writers Block Award. More than 150 scripts were nominated for this year’s awards in seven categories; 29 scripts chosen as finalists.

Guests on stage Monday included actors Connor Price (X Company), Patrice Goodman (Sunnyside), Wendy Crewson (Saving Hope) and show runners Stephanie Morgenstern and Mark Ellis (X Company), Gary Pearson (Sunnyside) and Adam Pettle (Saving Hope).

Here is a complete list of the award winners:

Fangbone, Season 1 “The Warbrute of Friendship”
Written by Simon Racioppa & Richard Elliott

Children & Youth
R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Season 4 “Mrs. Worthington”
Written by Melody Fox

The Cholesterol Question
Written by Michael McNamara

Movies & Miniseries
Elephant Song
Written by Nicolas Billon

Shorts & Webseries
Out With Dad, Season 3 “Outed ”
Written by Jason Leaver

TV Comedy
Mr. D, Season 3 “Old School”
Written by Andrew De Angelis

TV Drama
Orphan Black, Season 2 “Ipsa Scientia Potestas Est”
Written by Tony Elliott

Special Awards
Showrunner Award – Bruce Smith
Sondra Kelly Award – Alison Lea Bingeman
Writers Block Award – Denis McGrath