Treaty Road, the ground-breaking docuseries, premieres March 5 on APTN

From a media release:

After close to a decade of in-depth research, Saxon de Cocq, Hannah Hermanson and Ell McEachern of 3 Story Pictures, Doug Cuthand of Blue Hill Productions, and Candy Renae Fox are very pleased to bring Canadian audiences Season 1 of Treaty Road, the ground-breaking, long overdue 6-part docuseries (one hour each) that follows Dakota/Anishinaabekwe educator and researcher, Erin Goodpipe (RezX, The Other Side, Bathsheba: Search for Evil) and Métis writer, director and producer Saxon de Cocq (The Other Side, The Invincible Sergeant Bill (CBC) and Land Acknowledgement (CIFF)) on their personal and communal journey as they travel the old roads to uncover the truth about the signing of the Numbered Treaties, signed between 1871 and 1921, and ultimately themselves.

Beginning March 5, 2024 at 9 PM, Treaty Road will be broadcast on APTN.

Filming of Treaty Road took place across Treaty 1 through 6 territories in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta.

While exploring his Métis ancestry, writer/director Saxon de Cocq discovered that his great grandfather (x4) was the Honorable James McKay, a prominent Métis from the Red River area. McKay was involved in many of the Numbered Treaty negotiations, eventually becoming a Treaty Commissioner. With mixed feelings, Saxon is driven to learn more… what was McKay’s involvement, his motivations for playing a pivotal role in this part of history? Saxon enlists the help of his friend Erin Goodpipe, a community educator and researcher who has devoted years in building her knowledge around Aboriginal and Treaty Rights.

Treaty Road is directed by Candy Renae Fox (The Other Side, Big Brother Canada, Zarqa), and hosted by Saxon de Cocq and Erin Goodpipe and produced by Saxon de Cocq, Candy Renae Fox, Ell McEachern (Staying Wild, The Other Side, ZARQA S2) and Hannah Hermanson (Staying Wild, The Other Side, Dirt Farmers, ZARQA S2). The series is written by Saxon de Cocq and story edited by Berkley Brady (Dark Nature, The Secret History of: The Wild West) with Doug Cuthand(Guardians: Evolution, Miywayawin, Big Bear) serving as executive producer.

Cinematography by Jeremy Ratzlaff (By Faith, Denis, Never Seen Again) and editing by Jennifer Prokop (Staying Wild, The Other Side), Kolby Kostyniuk (Staying Wild, Dirt Farmers), Nina Staum (Ice Racer Showdown, The Other Side), and Adam Phipps (Amplify).

Treaty Road was produced with financial support from Canada Media Fund and Creative Saskatchewan.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.