Banff announces gala and Rockie Awards hosts and esteemed gala honourees

From a media release:

The Banff World Media Festival (BANFF) proudly unveils the distinguished recipients of the Rockies Gala Awards, recognizing some of the entertainment industry’s most influential business figures and most talented creatives. These prestigious awards will be bestowed on the evening of June 10th, as part of the 45th edition of the Festival taking place June 9 – 12, 2024 at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in Banff, Alberta, Canada.

Hosting the Festival’s flagship honours is Emmy Award winning Executive Producer, Correspondent, Director and Writer Allana Harkin. Allana has garnered ten Emmy nominations for her work over seven seasons on TBS’s Full Frontal with Samantha Bee where she was the show’s first on-air correspondent. As well as starring in numerous television shows Allana has written and directed for Amazon, Nick Jr., TBS, TNT CBC, CTV and Hulu. Most recently she directed and executive produced the series Nesting for Crave which has been nominated for a 2024 Banff World Media Festival Rockie Award and is the host of the upcoming podcast series “How Dare You with Allana Harkin”. She can be found @allanaharkin.

The first round of recipients of the Rockies Gala Awards are as follows:

INCLUSION AWARD: Robin Roberts (Good Morning America, Rock’n Robin Productions)

Presented by A+E Media Group, the Inclusion Award recognizes an individual whose efforts and vision in media champion and reflect the diversity of the world in which we live. Past Honorees include: Vivica A. Fox, Danielle Brooks, LeVar Burton, Jonathan Murray and Elizabeth Vargas.

CREATIVE VOICE AWARD: Renée Elise Goldsberry (Girls5eva, Hamilton original cast)

The creative voice award is bestowed on an executive or creative talent that has created outstanding work that breaks through, inspiring and connecting global audiences. Past honourees include Rose Matafeo and Jennifer Podemski.

SIR PETER USTINOV COMEDY AWARD: Tom Green (The Trades, Freddy Got Fingered, Charlie’s Angels)

The award recognizes a creative talent who has made an outstanding comedic contribution to the media industry. Past honourees include: Kenan Thompson, Sean Hayes, John Cleese, Tracey Ullman, Bob Newhart, Tantoo Cardinal, John Candy, Bill Hader, Ana Gasteyer and Craig T. Robinson.


Presented by Lionsgate, the Innovative Producer Award recognizes the entrepreneurial excellence and achievements of an independent producer in TV/digital media. Past honorees include: Eagle Vision, Sinking Ship Entertainment, Wattpad Studios, Scott Brothers Entertainment, New Metric Media, Wolf + Rabbit, Don Carmody and marblemedia.

CANADIAN AWARD OF DISTINCTION: Paul Sun-Hyung Lee (Avatar: The Last Airbender, Kim’s Convenience)

Presented by the Canada Media Fund (CMF/FMC) and MadeNous, the award is given to a Canadian whose body of work exemplifies outstanding achievement in the entertainment industry. Past honourees include:  Simu Liu, Eric McCormack, Kim Cattrall, Sheila Hockin and Jean-Marc Vallée.

AWARD OF EXCELLENCE: Kevin Beggs, Chairman & Chief Creative Officer, Lionsgate Television Group and Chair of the Board of Directors, BANFF Television Festival Foundation

The Award of Excellence acknowledges exceptional achievement through a body of work over an extended period of time. Past honourees include: Sharon Horgan, Paul Feig, Jeremy Podeswa, Kenny Ortega, Eugene Levy, Carol Mendelsohn and David E. Kelley.

“We’re thrilled to announce the incredible hosts of our awards shows and our esteemed Rockie Award Gala recipients. Each of these accomplished individuals and companies have left an indelible mark and made profound contributions in shaping the landscape of the entertainment industry,” said Jenn Kuzmyk, Executive Director. “We’re looking forward to celebrating their achievements and creativity in grand style at the festival.”

On the following evening, Tuesday June 11th, BANFF will feature the juried Rockie Awards International Program Competition, hosted by Jasmeet Raina (creator and star of the Crave Original series Late Bloomer). Timed at the kickoff to Emmy Award nomination voting, this global competition attracts participation from more than 45 countries and boasts an international jury of 150 senior entertainment industry professionals. Category winners, including the Grand Jury Prize, the Rogers Prize for Canadian Content, the Emerging Talent Prize, the Prix Francophone Prize, and other special prizes, will be announced during the Festival on June 11th.

Additional Rockies Award Gala recipients will be revealed at the ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.