Tag Archives: Canadian Screen Awards

Frankie Drake Mysteries, Cardinal, Workin’ Moms and Anne with an E topline Canadian Screen Award nominees

Frankie Drake Mysteries, Anne with an E, Letterkenny, Workin’ Moms and Cardinal are among the nominees for the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards.

Kim’s Convenience co-star Andrew Phung and Opie’s at Home star Aisha Alfa unveiled the nominees in Canadian television and film live in Toronto on Thursday morning.

Here are the nominees in key television categories:

Best Limited Series or Program

  • Second Opinion
  • Caught
  • Cardinal
  • The Indian Detective

Best Drama Series

  • Frankie Drake Mysteries
  • Vikings
  • Bad Blood
  • Anne with an E
  • Blood and Water

Best Comedy Series

  • Schitt’s Creek
  • Workin’ Moms
  • Second Jen
  • Mr. D
  • Letterkenny

Best Reality/Competition Series

  • Masterchef Canada
  • The Amazing Race Canada
  • Big Brother Canada
  • Knock Knock Ghost
  • Canada’s Smartest Person Junior

Best Sketch Comedy and Ensemble Performance

  • Baroness Von Sketch Show
  • Caution: May Contain Nuts
  • This Hour Has 22 Minutes

Best Lifestyle Series

  • Home to Win
  • Property Brothers
  • Carnival Eats
  • Where To I Do?
  • Built for the Weekend

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series

  • Backstage
  • The Next Step
  • Odd Squad
  • Reboot: The Guardian Code

Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series

  • Laurie Finstad Knizhnik, The Queen of Sin
  • Allan Hawco, Caught
  • Sarah Dodd, Cardinal
  • Jennica Harper, Cardinal
  • Fab Filippo, Save Me

Best Writing, Drama Series

  • Tassie Cameron, Lara Azzopardi, Marsha Greene, Mary Kills People
  • Mary Pedersen, Murdoch Mysteries
  • Tara Armstrong, Mary Kills People
  • Michael Konyves, Bad Blood
  • Kathryn Borell, Jr., Anne with an E

Best Writing, Comedy

  • Daniel Levy, Schitt’s Creek
  • Jared Keeso, Jacob Tierney, Letterkenny
  • JP Tremblay, Robb Wells, Mike Smith, Trailer Park Boys
  • Cynthia Knight, Mohawk Girls
  • Andrew Appelle, Robert Hyland, Curt Lobb, Jay McCarrol, Matthew Miller, Jared Raab, Nivanna The Band The Show

Here is a link to the complete list of nominees.

What are your thoughts on the nominations? Who do you think deserves to win? Let me know in the comments below.

The Canadian Screen Awards gala airs Sunday, March 31, at 8 p.m on CBC.


Link: Carmilla’s young, queer-positive audience sends a message to Canadian TV industry

From Victoria Ahearn of the Canadian Press:

Link: Carmilla’s young, queer-positive audience sends a message to Canadian TV industry
Of all the nominees for the Fan Choice trophy at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards — a list that included prominent TV stars Yannick Bisson and Hélène Joy of CBC’s Murdoch Mysteries, and Daniel Levy of Schitt’s Creek — it was a web star who took the title for the second year in a row. Continue reading.


Anne, Alias Grace, Kim’s Convenience and Baroness von Sketch Show win big at Canadian Screen Awards gala

Alias Grace, Baroness von Sketch Show, Anne, Schitt’s Creek‘s Catherine O’Hara, Orphan Black‘s Tatiana Maslany, Cardinal‘s Billy Campbell, Kim’s Convenience‘s Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and the series itself were among the winners at this year’s Canadian Screen Awards gala on Sunday night at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

Meanwhile, Murdoch Mysteries executive producer Christina Jennings made the fans’ night by revealing that Season 12 of the top-rated series had been ordered by CBC. Production starts soon.

The Academy Icon Award was delivered to Rick Mercer Report, Peter Mansbridge was given the Lifetime Achievement Award and Clark Johnson received the Earle Grey Award. Carmilla‘s Elise Bauman captured the Audience Choice Award.

The pre-broadcast winners were:

Golden Screen Award for TV Drama or Comedy
Murdoch Mysteries, CBC

Golden Screen Award for TV Reality Show
The Amazing Race Canada, CTV

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada, CTV

The main television category winners were:

Best Lead Actress, Comedy
Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek

Best Lead Actor, Comedy
Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience

Best Performance, Sketch Comedy (Individual or Ensemble)
Baroness von Sketch Show, CBC

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series
Alexander Ludwig, Vikings

Best Drama Series
Anne, CBC

Best Comedy Series
Kim’s Convenience, CBC

Best Lead Actor, Drama Program or Limited Series
Billy Campbell, Cardinal

Best Lead Actress, Drama Program or Limited Series
Sarah Gadon, Alias Grace

Audience Choice Award
Elise Bauman, Carmilla

Best Limited Series or Program
Alias Grace, CBC

Here’s a list of the winners from TuesdayWednesday and Thursday‘s industry awards.

What did you think of last night’s awards? Did your favourite television show, actor or actress win? Let me know in the comments below.