Bell Media

Amazing Race Canada, Marilyn Denis topline Night 1 of Canadian Screen Awards

The Amazing Race Canada, The Marilyn Denis Show, Income Property

and Still Standing were among the winners on Night 1 of the Canadian Screen Awards.

The non-broadcast fête from Toronto’s Westin Harbour Castle saluted the sports, factual, talk, documentary and news categories. The spectacle was hosted by comedian Seán Cullen, whose eclectic humour kept those in attendance on their toes from the start.

“I watch Survivorman because in this business you never know when you’re going to be eating grass clippings and ants,” he quipped in his opening monologue. Later, a cringe-worthy segment boasted Cullen singing to such Canadian celebrities in the audience as Ben Mulroney, CTV’s Michelle Dubé, Marilyn Denis and CBC’s Ian Hanomansing.

The big winners of the night were the crew of CTV’s The Amazing Race, which not only took home Best Reality/Competition Program or Series but the photography, picture editing and directing categories as well. The Marilyn Denis Show captured a win for Best Talk Program or Series.

“I’m so lucky to have a second chance, a second go-round with this show. Please go and watch TV, it’s worth it,” Denis said upon accepting the trophy. Other winners included HGTV’s Income Property starring Scott McGillivray and CBC’s road trip project Still Standing.

Here are the winners in some key categories from Night 1:

Best Lifestyle Program or Series
Income Property

Best Talk Program or Series
The Marilyn Denis Show

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada

Best Documentary Program

Best History Documentary Program or Series
Vietnam: Canada’s Shadow War

Best Factual Program or Series
Still Standing

Best Live Entertainment Special
The JUNO Awards 2015

Best News Anchor, Local
Andrew Chang, CBC News: Vancouver at 6

Best News Anchor, National
Ian Hanomansing, CBC News

Best Local Newscast
CTV News Vancouver at 6

Best National Newscast
CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme

Here’s the complete list of winners.

The Canadian Screen Awards gala airs Sunday at 8 p.m. on CBC.