Everything about Awards, eh?

Call Me Fitz and Orphan Black take home top Canadian Screen Award TV titles

Cancelled comedy Call Me Fitz and cult hit Orphan Black were the big winners in the television categories at the 2015 Canadian Screen Awards on Sunday night.

“It’s an honour to make great Canadian TV for the world from our own backyard,” Orphan Black co-showrunner Graeme Manson said from Toronto’s Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts stage after claiming the trophy. Orphan Black lead Tatiana Maslany took home the title for Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role.

19-2‘s Jared Keeso took home the hardware for Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role.

Cancelled Movie Network/Movie Central sitcom Call Me Fitz took home two awards for Best Comedy Series; co-star Joanna Cassidy won for Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role.

Bomb Girls: Facing the Enemy had a bittersweet goodbye earlier in the night with a win for Best Dramatic Mini-Series or TV movie; star Jodi Balfour captured Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series.

Lost Girl was given the Fan’s Choice Award.

Here’s a list of the television winners (Bold text indicates the winner of each category.)

Best Dramatic Series
Orphan Black

Best Comedy Series
Call Me Fitz
Mr. D
Spun Out
Tiny Plastic Men

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
The Amazing Race Canada
Big Brother Canada
MasterChef Canada
The Ultimate Fighter Nations – Canada vs. Australia
Unusually Thicke

Best International Drama
The Great Martian War

Best Variety of Sketch Comedy Program or Series
Rick Mercer Report
Funny as Hell
Seth Rogen: Hilarity for Charity
This Hour Has 22 Minutes

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role
Gerry Dee, Mr. D
Adam Korson, Seed
Don McKellar, Sensitive Skin
Dave Foley, Spun Out
Mark Meer, Tiny Plastic Men

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role
Joanna Cassidy, Call Me Fitz
Julia Voth, Package Deal
Carrie-Lynn Neales, Seed
Kacey Rohl, Working the Engels
Andrea Martin, Working the Engels

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role
Adam Beach, Arctic Air
David Sutcliffe, Cracked
Jared Keeso, 19-2
Michael McLeod, Forgive Me
Dillon Casey, Remedy

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role
Meaghan Rath, Being Human
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
Megan Follows, Reign
Jennie Raymond, Sex & Violence
Jackie Torrens, Sex & Violence

What did you think of the Canadian Screen Awards? Did your favourite take home a trophy? Comment below or via @tv_eh.

CBC fails the Canadian Screen Awards even before the broadcast (finally) begins

It’s only been a week since social media gorged on the Oscars, Hollywood’s valentine to itself. Together we gushed and snarked at the red carpet fashion, cringed at Neil Patrick Harris’s never-ending box trick, cheered and hissed at the speeches, and even talked a bit about the merit of the movies themselves. The broadcasters, ABC and CTV, live blogged and used the #Oscars hashtag on Twitter. The continent was united in watching a live event. PVRs are for losers when it comes to the collective water cooler that is social media.

Tonight the Canadian Screen Awards take place at 7 pm in Toronto, but will air on CBC at 8 pm local time across the country, and be streamed online at 8 pm Eastern Time everywhere — meaning there will be no way to take advantage of the live event to create a communal experience for viewers.

Those who care about the awards — those who are the biggest advocates for the shows, movies, and the industry as a whole — will turn to the tweets of those in the room to learn the winners before (and in many cases instead of) tuning in to the broadcast.

We didn’t suffer though the endless hours of the Oscars because the show itself was so entertaining — we watched because we wanted to see who won, together. I run a website on Canadian television. I love awards shows. This is my night. And yet I will no more  watch the awards on tape delay than I would watch the Stanley Cup Final on PVR.

I won’t argue that the Canadian Screen Awards are as important to Canadian popular culture as the Oscars are, but I will argue that the Canadian television industry has a huge stake in giving them pride of place on their schedule, which for a live event means live, especially in this social media age.

The Canadian Screen Award ratings may very well end up being good enough for CBC. But an industry that aims for good enough is not an industry I’d be proud of.

Link: CSA 2015 Winning Moment: Orphan Black’s Jordan Gavaris

From Melissa Girimonte of The Televixen:

CSA 2015 Winning Moment: Orphan Black’s Jordan Gavaris
Immediately after his win for Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Series, we spoke with Orphan Black‘s Jordan Gavaris about taking the category for the second year in a row, and their upcoming third season.

Congratulations! Winning something like this, being recognized for your spectacular work on this show, what does it feel like to be acknowledged by your peers once again this year? 

I didn’t fit in in a lot of circles. Continue reading.

Link: CSA 2015 Winning Moment: Motive Guest Star Callum Keith Rennie

From Melissa Girimonte of The Televixen:

CSA 2015 Winning Moment: Motive Guest Star Callum Keith Rennie
Callum Keith Rennie took home the Best Performance in a Guest Role, Dramatic Series statue for his role on Season 2 of Motive, which is just one of the phenomenal roles he’s played over the years.

This role on Motive was so complex and so intense. What was it like for you embodying this character for a short little period of time?

Because it’s people I know – like I know the leads of the show and I knew the producers and – it is an environment that was comfortable. Continue reading.

Tonight: Canadian Screen Awards, Heartland, Masterchef Canada

Canadian Screen Awards, CBC
The 2015 Canadian Screen Awards, hosted by Andrea Martin celebrates our country’s finest talent in all screen industries in this star-studded celebration.

Heartland, CBC – “Riders on the Storm”
Amy and Ty help Scott’s nephew realize he is worthy of continuing his family tradition of relay racing.

Masterchef Canada, CTV – “Juggling Act”
The home cooks’ first Team Challenge requires them to cook a hearty performance day lunch for the world-class acrobats, performers, and crew of Cirque du Soleil’s show Kurios: A Cabinet of Curiosities. Once back in the MASTERCHEF CANADA kitchen, the losing team faces the dreaded Pressure Test, in which they are challenged to master a historic Québécois dish.